Monday, November 29, 2010

Allison Brennan - An Overview

     I don't remember which Allison Brennan book I read first.  I do remember that I could not put it down.  I went on to read other authors and then, one day when I was browsing the shelves at my local library, I came across several of her books and I checked out maybe three.  I was hooked!
     The book I just finished, Sudden Death, was another page turner.  A team of serial killers is on the loose and they seem to be targeting veterans of one Special Forces team which had been assigned to one mission in Afghanistan.  FBI special agent, Megan Elliott, is assigned to the murder of a homeless veteran in Sacramento only to have the case removed from her jurisdiction 24 hours later.  Megan is not happy about that but she plays by the rules and strictly within the system so, of course, she releases the body and all the evidence.  Meanwhile the killers have moved on to a tiny border town in Texas and brutally murdered a member of Jack Kincaid"s team.  Jack is a soldier-for-hire and he will employ any means to find the killer.  Megan and Jack are on a collision course when they find themselves on a national task force to bring down these serial killers even as the body count climbs. Sparks fly between Jack and Megan not only because she follows the rules of investigation and he follows his instincts but also because they seem to ignite each other.
     Although it isn't necessary to the understanding of Sudden Death, you might enjoy reading the other Allison Brennan books first as many of the supporting characters have appeared in previous books.  Some of them even have a book of their own.  One supporting character who appears in many of the books in Hans Vigo.  Hans is a profiler for the FBI and he has been called in on many of the cases.  He first appeared off-page, then as a very minor character.  In Sudden Death he plays a larger role and some of his background is revealed.  Hans had better be careful or he will end up as the main character soon and that isn't like him!
     I have given you a list of Ms. Brennan's books in order of publication so you can follow the characters as they expand and grow.  Even though some of her titles are in series form, the author is consistent with her characters and many of them appear in each book.

The Prey (c2006)  introduces Hans Vigo off-page
The Hunt (c2006)
The Kill (c2006)
Speak No Evil (c2007) first introduction to the Kincaid family but not Jack
See No Evil (c2007) more about the Kincaids
Fear No Evil (c2007) mostly about the Kincaids, Hans Vigo is back, Jack Kincaid introduced
Killing Fear (c2008) features Will Hooper and Robin McKenna, includes Carina Kincaid and Hans Vigo
Tempting Evil (c2008) Tyler McBride and Joanna Sutton, introduces Mitch Bianchi, Hans Vigo
Playing Dead (c2008) Mitch Bianchi and Claire O'Brien, introduces Megan Elliott, Hans Vigo
Sudden Death (c2009) Jack Kincaid and Megan Elliott, meet J.T. Caruso and Kane Rogan
Fatal Secrets (c2009) Dean Hooper and Sonia Knight, more Rogans, Hans Vigo
Cutting Edge (c2009) Duke Rogan and Nora English, the Rogans and J.T. Caruso
Original Sin (c2010) starting a new series, mostly new characters
Carnal Sin (c2010)
Mortal Sin ( was to be released in the fall of 2010)
Love Me To Death (Dec. 28, 2010) about Lucy Kincaid
Kiss Me, Kill Me (Feb. 22, 2011)

No comments:

Post a Comment